ASD Mornings

The San Diego Natural History Museum (theNAT) is pleased to offer a program for the Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) community: a once-a-month ASD Morning in which the Museum opens early for adults and children on the autism spectrum and their families, friends, and caregivers. This innovative program encourages individuals to explore, play, and discover the treasures theNAT has to offer in an environment that is comfortable for them.

ASD Mornings take place the second Sunday of every month. The Museum will open at 9 AM*, one hour earlier than its standard 10 AM opening time, providing a quiet and less-crowded environment. Visitors may explore the Museum’s galleries at their own pace and watch a private showing of Ocean Oasis in the giant screen theater, with a lower volume and higher light levels. In addition, on ASD Mornings the Museum will offer a “quiet room” from 9 AM to noon if visitors need a quiet space to decompress or desensitize.

ASD Mornings will take place on the following dates:

General admission rates apply during ASD Mornings. For admission rates and ticketing information, click here.

  • 14 Jan
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, January 14, 2018 9 AM
  • 11 Feb
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, February 11, 2018 9 AM
  • 11 Mar
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, March 11, 2018 9 AM
  • 8 Apr
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, April 8, 2018 9 AM
  • 13 May
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, May 13, 2018 9 AM
  • 10 Jun
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, June 10, 2018 9 AM
  • 8 Jul
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, July 8, 2018 9 AM
  • 12 Aug
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, August 12, 2018 9 AM
  • 9 Sep
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, September 9, 2018 9 AM
  • 14 Oct
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, October 14, 2018 9 AM
  • 11 Nov
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, November 11, 2018 9 AM
  • 9 Dec
    ASD Mornings
    • Sunday, December 9, 2018 9 AM